Five Minute Friday Share

With three children six years of age and under, I spend a good chunk of my day talking about sharing. My children frequently want the toy, pillow, blanket or cup that one of their siblings are using. It is human nature. It seems to be ingrained from birth that each one of us wants what we think is our fair share. I have been thinking of how counter-cultural the teachings of the Bible are. The Bible instructs us to be generous. It is better to give than receive. (Acts 20:35) I have found in my own life the joy that comes from sharing ,whether it is preparing a meal and sharing it with friends, or sharing our thoughts, feelings, and hearts with those close to us. I want to teach my children that it is a blessing to share with others. I want to be an example to them of sharing God’s love generously with others.

 

This post is a part of the weekly Five Minute Friday link-up. My friends and I gather over at Kate’s blog Heading Home to write for five minutes on the topic of the week. 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Share

  1. Gayl Wright says:

    Thanks for sharing that scripture. It is true that we are blessed when we share with others and are generous. Great post! Blessings to you! I’m your neighbor at Five Minute Friday.

    Like

  2. Forever Joyful says:

    Amen. Sharing is much easier when we remember that it’s a blessing. I often find myself telling my children to share without emphasizing why. Reminding them of the blessing it is to us couldn’t hurt either. Thanks for SHARE-ing.

    Like

    • rosebudmama says:

      Oh, I tell my children to share a lot of times without explaining the reason why. Or my favorite explanation is that they better share before I decide to take to goodwill whatever they were arguing over. 🙂 I hope you have a lovely weekend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

