Five Minute Friday Miss

I have children who protest at any mention of bedtime, because they are afraid they are going to miss something. Is Mom and Dad going to sneak into the ice cream without us? Are they going to watch TV or play a fun game without us? What are they going to do with that time between our bedtime and the time that they go to bed? My children are afraid of missing out.

I don’t want to miss out on anything either, but I realize that if I am not careful I may miss out on a lot. I may miss out on laughter, fun, and memories if I get too focused on my to-do list and my schedule of how I think the day should go. I may miss out on important conversations if I dismiss questions or don’t pay careful attention to what my children are really trying to tell me. One day I am going to look back on these days of having young children in my home, and I know that I will miss this. I pray that I show my children how much I treasure them today.

This post is a part of the weekly Five Minute Friday link-up. My friends and I gather over at Kate’s blog Heading Home to write for five minutes on the topic of the week.

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Miss

  1. Kath says:

    Thanks for the reminder not to miss the important stuff that is hidden in the everydayness of our lives – important conversations and nuances, fun, laughter and memories amidst the mess.
    Love the song – very special
    Kath
    visiting from #8 at FMF.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tara says:

    It can be so easy for any of us to fall into the trap of the fear of missing out. We need to be content and treasure the blessings and moments we’ve been given in this world. Over in the 68 spot this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

