Tuesday at 10/Five Minute Friday Expectant Faith Faith

Hebrews 11:1

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

This verse immediately came to mind when I read that the Tuesday at 10 prompt this week was the word faith.  This has been a busy week, and I didn’t sit down to write a post about faith as I had planned. On Friday, I learned that the Five minute Friday prompt was expect. I was enjoying a lovely visit with family this weekend, and so here I am on Monday afternoon, and I decided that I want to write about expectant faith. I have recently read the book Looking for Lovely by Annie Downs. One of the themes in this book is expectant faith. It is not just about believing that God could work in a certain circumstance, but actually watching expectantly for His work to take place. I want to have that kind of faith. I want to have the “Yes, God” kind of faith, not the debating with God, questioning God, and telling him that, “I am sure you mean for someone else to do something, not me.” Even though, it is comforting that there are many examples in the Bible of people who were unsure when God spoke to them, and God still used them in amazing ways. I still would like to not have to circle around the same proverbial mountains due to my lack of faith. My favorite example of expectant faith is Mary’s answer to the angel Gabriel  “Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to your word.” Luke 1:38

 

This is my weekly contributions to the five minute Friday and Tuesday at 10 link-ups. You can learn more about Five Minute Friday here  and Tuesday at 10 here.

https://i0.wp.com/maryanderingcreatively.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/Literacy-Musing-Mondays-300x300.png

https://i0.wp.com/katemotaung.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/its-a-girl-768x768.jpg

http://i2.wp.com/www.findingthegracewithin.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/Screen-Shot-2016-05-17-at-9.44.15-AM.png?w=312

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Tuesday at 10/Five Minute Friday Expectant Faith Faith

  1. Gleniece says:

    Hi there. I, too, live in the desert Southwest. (I just read your “about” page).
    I also strive for a Yes, God kind of faith. It takes purposeful releasing of all our “I wants” we have in this life. It’s not an easy task, though. But God is faithful to finish the work He started in us, if we are willing.
    I’m your neighbor at Literacy Musings Monday. Love to you from Arizona.

    Liked by 2 people

    • rosebudmama says:

      “Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6 This is one of my favorite promises in scripture. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

