31 days of Scripture and Song Be One

1 Peter 4:9New King James Version (NKJV)

Be hospitable to one another without grumbling.

When I learned the prompt word today was brew, the image that came to mind was brewing a pot of coffee or a tea kettle on the stove. I sometimes overthink hospitality. I think that hospitality has to be some grandiose four course meal. Hospitality can be something as simple as a cup of tea, a warm smile, and  a listening ear. It makes me think of Jesus telling Martha that only one thing is needed, and that Mary chose the better way. (Luke 10) May my efforts at hospitality always be about making others feel loved, listened to, and appreciated. May my hospitality be others-centered meeting others right where they are and showing them God’s love. I think the heart of hospitality is to love your neighbor as yourself.

 

3 thoughts on “31 days of Scripture and Song Be One

  1. Tara says:

    THIS: “Hospitality can be something as simple as a cup of tea, a warm smile, and a listening ear.” So true! Great song choice too. Love me some Natalie Grant.

    Like

    • rosebudmama says:

      Yes, I tend to over-complicate too much in my mind. Jesus’ yoke is light and easy. I am the one who tries to make it heavy.

      Like

  2. jerralea says:

    I think you are so right: “I think the heart of hospitality is to love your neighbor as yourself.”

    We can’t go wrong if we do that!

    I’d not heard this song before. Like it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

