Five Minute Friday Test (Day 7 31 days of scripture and song)

James 1:2-4

2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,[a] whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

If I can be honest, I am not really good at considering it a joyful experience when I am going through a trial. I don’t even handle a bad day that well, most of the time. I find it interesting that this scripture states that when perseverance finishes its work that I will be mature and complete. Even though I know that perseverance will not be finished with me until heaven. It is in the trials of life, that it is most evident that I need Jesus. Through Him and the work of the Holy Spirit I have the perseverance to get out of bed in the mornings on the really hard days. But I guess, if I didn’t get out of bed, and if I tried to hide from my problems than I wouldn’t be allowing perseverance to finish its work, would I? I am also so incredibly thankful that God gave me my children. Their joy, laughter, and antics bring a smile to my face on the hardest days. My children remind me of the purpose and plan that God has for me everyday, including the hard ones.

 

One thought on “Five Minute Friday Test (Day 7 31 days of scripture and song)

Leave a Reply

