Day 22 of Scripture and Song Day 1

Colossians 3:9-10

Do not lie to one another, since you laid aside the old self with its evil practices, and have put on the new self who is being renewed to a true knowledge according to the image of the One who created him.

Putting off and setting aside bad habits of the “old man” is so hard. It makes me want to quote Scarlett O’Hara and say “I will think about it tomorrow.” Thinking about something tomorrow never actually accomplishes anything. The words from Colossians are a command and not a suggestion. I am so thankful that I am not alone in this struggle. God has given us the Holy Spirit who is working to change me from the inside out, if I let him. He has also given me a family of believers brothers and sisters in Christ who spur me on to love and good deeds. Putting off the old man is so important, as I have three pairs of little eyes that are watching me. I know that I will never be perfect this side of heaven, but I want them to see that their mothers tries and that when I fail, that I repent and keep walking with my Savior and King.

This is day 22 of 31 Days of Scripture and Song. Today’s post is based on the word off. You can learn more about 31 days of five minute free writes here.

 

Leave a Reply

