One Word wrap up for 2016 and my one word for 2017

At the end of 2015, I picked the word abundant for my word for 2016. I needed to remember that God’s grace is enough for me even on the long, hard days. I far too often feel like I am running on fumes, and I do this because I am worrying too much and praying too little. John 10:10 “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”  I need to remind myself from truth from God’s word, and I tried to be more intentional about remembering that Jesus is the way the truth and the life this year. I need to run to Him anytime that I am feeling discouraged or defeated.

The past few weeks, as I have been thinking about what my word for 2017 will be, I have always came back to the lyrics of the song “Tell Me” by Carrolton. I need constant reminder that I belong to God.  I love the truths expressed in the chorus of this song.

“Tell me I am loved
Tell me I am known
That You died for me
I am not alone
Tell me I’m Your child
The one Your heart beats for
I can find my strength
Knowing I am Yours
You’ve always known what my heart needs
And You tell me”

I far too often forget that God is in control. I can trust Him. He loves me more than I can comprehend. I don’t have to worry about being known. He knows me completely. He has promised to never leave me. I am His child, and He is a good, good Father. He knows what my heart needs. He is my refuge and strength. So, my word for 2017 is Yours because I want to remember that I belong to God, and I can find my rest and peace in Him.

Do you have a word for 2017? I would love to read it in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

