Five Minute Friday Weak

          Sometimes, I laugh when I think of my younger self, and all of my preconceived ideas. My college-aged self thought that marriage and motherhood would be easy compared to the waiting for the “right guy” to come along. After all, I loved being around children, and had dreamed of being a wife and mother, since the days of rocking baby dolls in a toy cradle. As a mother of three children, seven years of age and younger, I can now say that being a wife and mother has humbled me.  Is it easy? No not at all. Is it worth it? More than I could have imagined. I often feel very weak in my roles as a wife and mother, and I really want to be an excellent wife and mother. It is comforting to know that God’s grace is enough. I sometimes repeat to myself the sentence, “Your power is made perfect in my weakness.”, to remind myself that my husband and children do not need the perfect wife and mother. They need one who knows that she is weak, and finds her strength “in the shadow of His wings.” Times up. 🙂

Image result for My power is made perfect in your weakness

 

Every Friday I gather with a wonderful community of writers for Five Minute Friday. We write for five minutes on the topic of the week. This week’s topic is weak. Come by Kate’s place to join the fun.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Weak

    • rosebudmama says:

      You know me, as soon as I read the prompt I was thinking which song should I share with this. I put the link for the song in my post before I even started typing. 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement and friendship, Tara.

      Like

  1. E. Adams Wright says:

    I so appreciate the reminder that our loved ones do not need us to be perfect, they need us to know we are weak, and find our “strength ‘in the shadow of His wings.'” Amen and Amen. Thanks for including 2 Corinthians 12:9 and the song by Avalon. Blessings. Visiting from FMF.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosebudmama says:

      Thank you for stopping by. I notice that my children are happier when I am less focused on perfection, and more focused on being fully present with them. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

