Five Minute Friday Slow

I must confess that I am not very good at slow. My son was walking around with shoes on the wrong feet the other day, because I rushed him to put them on. This is typical of my experience with hurrying. I end up needing to take more time to correct mistakes that I have made or prompted others to make due to rushing.  I often joke with my children when they are rushing me, “Mama’s has one speed, slow.” I need to give them grace and allow them to slow down also. I need to stop rushing them from one activity to the next. I need to slow down and enjoy family dinners, bed time stories, and dance parties in the living room. I need to be fully present and not planning the rest of the day in my head while I am spending time with my children. I want to enjoy my Cuddle Bug pretending to be a cat. I want to watch my Little Man’s matchbox car races, and I want to talk about the beautiful colors that my Princess uses in her art work. I want to slow down, before I wake up one day ten years from now and wonder where the time went.

Every Friday I gather with a wonderful community of writers for Five Minute Friday. We write for five minutes on the topic of the week. This week’s topic is slow. Come by Kate’s place to join the fun.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Slow

  1. Mandy Hughes says:

    Great post, Jo! I can so relate. The busyness of life causes us to miss precious moments. When my kids ask me to play and I’m really too busy to, I remind myself, one day they’re not going to want to play with me anymore. Sometimes, that pressing matter just needs to wait. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • rosebudmama says:

      “The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
      But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
      So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
      I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.”
      – Ruth Hulburt Hamilton

      I love this poem. It is such a great reminder when I am tempted to chase after what feels “urgent” in life. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

