Five Minute Friday Empty

Many days I feel like I am running on empty. I am trying to take care of the next pressing thing. I have no time to stop. I am already behind. If I take a break I will be  even further behind. This feeling behind schedule even before the day begins leaves me feeling cranky and out of sorts. Then, I feel bad when I see the look of realization on my children’s face that Mama is in a bad mood (again.) Why am I in such a hurry? Is not one of the reasons that I am a stay at home mom is to enjoy being with my children? Do I really need to rush all the time? Is my schedule or how I view the day playing out that important, or could there be blessings behind the interruptions? Instead of running on empty, I need to ask God to empty me of my focus on myself, and my agenda, so that I can be filled with His Spirit. He must increase. I must decrease.

Time’s up.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Empty

  1. Jeannie Prinsen says:

    I know what you mean by running on empty — that’s a familiar feeling to me. I so often try to just push through in my own strength instead of letting God fill me. This is a good reminder to all of us, to encourage one another in this letting-go. Thanks.

    Jeannie (#28 in FMF)

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosebudmama says:

      Yes, thank you you for reminding me that this is a matter of trust, and that in allowing God to fill me, I am surrendering and telling Him that I trust Him to meet my needs, without all the frustrating striving. I hope you have a lovely weekend!

      Like

  2. Barbie says:

    I run on empty way too often. It’s so easy to go to the Father and ask to be filled. But first we must empty ourselves. I’m at #6 this week. Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

