Five Minute Friday Truth

When I read that tonight’s Five Minute Friday prompt word was truth, the below Psalm specifically the second verse of Psalm 15 came to mind. Do I speak the truth from a sincere heart? I am afraid I often let my thoughts run away from me, without passing them through the filter, of “Is this true?” The problem with that is that if my thoughts are not being made obedient to Christ, than it is much easier to speak words that are not true, and base my actions on my feelings instead of the truth. I think that this is the reason that it is important to ask God to help me focus on His truth. I need to let His word be a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path. (Psalm 119:105) I want to do a better job of keeping my focus on “whatever is whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8

 

Image result for psalm 15:1

These are my thoughts on the Five Minute Friday prompt word truth. Each we gather to pour our hearts out on to the page concerning the topic of the week. You can learn more about Five Minute Friday here.

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Truth

    • rosebudmama says:

      Yes, lean on God, and keep praying and asking to lead me, and give me the words to say. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  1. Anita Ojeda says:

    Thank you for this reminder! I hate it when people disguise their feelings (usually negative) by claiming that they are ‘just telling the truth.’ It’s important to let the Holy Spirit convict and to carefully guard our tongues!

    Like

    • rosebudmama says:

      Yes, it is a fine line that needs to be walked. The command to speak the truth “in love.” Those two little words are so important. I am often reminded in my parenting that if I can not guide my children loving than the conversation should probably wait until I am able to do so. Thank you for stopping by. I hope you have a lovely weekend!

      Like

  2. Lesley says:

    I agree, it’s easy to let our thoughts and feelings run away without us and for the words to come out without us really considering them. It is important to examine them in the light of God’s truth.

    Like

  3. tammysincerity says:

    This was the most encouraging passage! Thank you for the lovely picture with the scripture!
    And, this song is one of my favorite jam-out songs from my youth!
    So glad to be your neighbor on FMF this weekend!
    Also, that passage of “take captive every thought” came to mind as I read your writing. 🙂
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#5 on FMF)

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosebudmama says:

      Thank you! Your reminder to take every thought captive was encouraging to me, because my Saturday was not going as planned, and I was beginning to feel discouraged. Yes, I used to listen to Avalon all the time as a teenager and college student. I hope that you have a lovely weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

