Five Minute Friday Worth

I messed up this week. I know I am human, and because I am human, I am a sinner. I am going to mess up sometimes. It’s just that all my life, I have always wanted to be a wife and a mom, and some days I do not feel like I am a very good wife or mom. I put this self-imposed pressure, that I can’t have a bad day.  On those days, I feel like a failure. On those hard days, I need to remember that God promises to give me strength in my areas of weakness. He is not advocating the try harder life. He tells us to come to Him, and find rest and peace in Him. I want to be this perfect wife and mom, but God is not asking for perfection. God is asking me to willingly humbly follow Him. It is okay that I fall sometimes, as long as I am falling into the arms of my Savior. God alone determines my worth, not how well I think perform on any given day.

 

five minute friday

 

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Worth

  1. Christy says:

    Oh Jo! You are SO right! He is NOT advocating the “try harder” life. There is nothing any of us can do harder than what Christ has already done on the Cross. If trying harder was God’s desire, none of us would have any hope!
    My younger children days often found me falling flat, but God! Humble repentance when we’ve sinned goes a long way with our families. It also teaches our children about humility and forgiveness. Keep running to Jesus!
    I’m following behind you at FMF again this week where I’m blogging at mywritingplayground.com.

    Like

    • rosebudmama says:

      Thank you so much for your encouraging words. I love the camaraderie of the FMF group. I hope that you have a lovely weekend!

      Like

    • rosebudmama says:

      Yes, and I hope that my children know how much I love them by the fact that I keep showing up. Thank you for the encouragement, Andrew!

      Like

  2. Lesley says:

    It’s so reassuring on days when we feel like we’ve failed that God does not expect perfection, that our worth is in him, not in reaching certain standards. Thanks for the reminder, and for the song too!

    Like

  3. Tara says:

    You’re only human. We all struggle at thinking we are worthy or not. And you can’t go wrong with some Matthew West music. I’m in the 72 spot this week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

