Five Minute Friday Play

I have an eight year old daughter, and a son who will be six and a daughter who will be five by the end of the summer.  I hear the words “Let’s pretend that . . . . . ” often in my home. I admit that I am not always joyful when I hear those words. Sometimes it is not convenient to make an indoor beach in the living room, or for my children to pretend that they are at a royal ball. I might not think that it is a good time for my son to pretend to be a ninja or for my children to set up a circus in the living room. Even though, my mother-in-law jokes with me that my life as a homeschool mom to my children could be compared to a three ring circus. 🙂 When I get frustrated that I am stepping over pillows and blankets that are in the walk way again, I need to remember that these days of playing in the living room are short. Sooner than I think, my children will out grow these days of active imaginative play. I need to enjoy being a customer at my son’s make-believe restaurant while I can. Every once in a while I need to push aside my agenda and enjoy playing with my children. The old cliché is true. “The days are long, but the years are short.”

 

play

 

 

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Play

  1. Julia Putzke says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard that cliche before. It’s interesting how true it is. I’m the oldest child in my family and I still see that even though we aren’t little anymore, there’s parts of us that are still young. Like the child in us. ☺️ Enjoy the time with your kids even if it’s a three ring circus. Think of all the memories you’re making by being as present as you are. How much you’ll be able to look back on.❤️ Thanks for sharing this joy & the song.

    Like

  2. Lesley says:

    I think there is a lot of truth in that cliché. It’s true that days can seem long at the time but then I can look back ten years and wonder where the time has disappeared to. Definitely important to make the most of the moments while we have them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

